6 Things That You Should Never Do On Facebook

6 Things That You Should Never Do On Facebook

by Gary Oldwood on 11 July 2016 · 1510 views

2 full 6 Things That You Should Never Do On Facebook

Protection of your personal information is valuable, however, it is a very rare thing nowadays, since our routine is defined by posts, likes and shares. It is precisely this kind of privacy protection we must protect, even though we often operate naively, paying the appropriate price later, since there are countless cases in which a post or an item published in a user’s Facebook wall led to burglaries and harassment.

With cybercrime taking colossal proportions, and personal posts having priority over news posts after a change in the social network’s algorithm, we present you everything that you should never share with online friends (and if you have, then it’s never too late to delete them!).

1. Places you hang out, home and work address- even by mistake.

Yes, it may sound silly that someone will publicly share his address, but even when you use the geotagging feature (the feature that includes our current location when making a post), you should be aware that potential stalkers and robbers know where you hang out and when. This becomes more dangerous if you check-in to the same location often.

Also, be sure to have control in your friends’ social activities as well. If someone has visited your place and wishes to check-in to your apartment, he is required to ask first.

2. Childrens’ photos

You should pay attention when you want to post childrens’ photos. In case of other people’s kids, make sure to get permission from their parents first. In case they are your own children, make sure that you are not giving out a lot of info regarding places they hang out, schools or extracurricular activities.

With several cases of disappearances of small girls or boys from their homes, most of which usually begin in social media, parents should monitor their children’s social activities and everything that they share about them.

3. Vacations

Friends will be happy for your absence, because they know that it is a relaxing getaway. But aspiring burglars will be even happier, because they know that they can act undisturbed in your places. If you just have to let your friends know about your vacations in Facebook, then you can make as many detailed posts as you want for them in a selected circle of friends that you can create from the Settings.

4. Personal, especially suggestive, photos

Yes, you are restricted by the terms of social networks themselves not to share your nude photos. But you can always send them via Snapchat or a direct message or any other way you can think of- but don’t think you are safe in any case. This way, you always give the opportunity for a hacker to expose your naked self in the eyes of many people (whom you might or might not know). Do not trust your wildest shots to anyone.

5. Credit card or other financial information

Yes, it is just plain stupid to do that, but there are users who have posted photos of their credit card in social networks. Needless to say, this is something that is expressly prohibited but those who are aware of cybercrime claim that the slightest detail, the name of your bank, your mother’s name, VAT number, date and place of your birth, are sufficient to lead aspiring hackers to do whatever they wish.

6. Comments and public confrontations about hot topics

If you haven’t configured your Privacy Settings, then chances are that anything you post can reach the News Feed of the people that it shouldn’t. In a study carried out by Career Builder, it was found that 4 in 10 employers use social media to monitor activities of their employees. In a 2014 survey by the survey company Gartner, it was reported that already 60% of companies are “following” their employees in their social networks. Creating a Restricted List is essential.

An honest, friendly advice

According to studies, 63% of the applications we have installed in our smartphones and tablets, as well as many of Facebook's own app, want you (during their installation) to grant them permission to post instead of you. Do not allow that- on the contrary, visit the apps’ settings and disable automatic posting.

If the application has no such option or simply insists on its own, autonomous activity, delete it- it’s for your own great good.

Comments (0)
Featured Articles